Skip to main content

Practical Nursing Application Information

THE APPLICATION WINDOW HAS CLOSED FOR OUR FULL-TIME 2021-2022 CLASSES AND OUR ATOKA PART-TIME 2021-2023 CLASS.

FOR THOSE TESTING AFTER THE 15TH,  EMAIL TEST SCORES ONLY (THROUGH APRIL 23, 2021) TO PRACTICALNURSING@KTC.EDU.      

THE APPLICATION REVIEW PROCESS TAKES A FEW WEEKS AFTER THE APPLICATION DEADLINE.  YOU WILL BE NOTIFIED BY EMAIL CONCERNING YOUR APPLICATION STATUS.  PLEASE BE PATIENT DURING THE REVIEW PROCESS, LIMITING PHONE CALLS TO THE PN ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE ONLY AT 580-298-5160.  THANK YOU.                           

FINANCIAL AID CONTACTS

Contact these Financial Aid Coordinators by email for Financial Aid assistance:

 

CAMPUS

CONTACT PERSON EMAIL ADDRESS and
PHONE NUMBER

ATOKA

Mary McClendon mmcclendon@ktc.edu
580-889-7321

DURANT 

Lauren Smith laurensmith@ktc.edu
580-924-7081

HUGO

Evelyn Wilkins ewilkins@ktc.edu
580-326-6491

IDABEL

Amanda Fulgium afulgium@ktc.edu
580-286-7555

McALESTER

Danielle Hackler dhackler@ktc.edu
918-426-0940

POTEAU

Jillian Timmons jtimmons@ktc.edu
918-647-4525

 

TESTING CONTACTS

Contact these individuals to schedule your ACCUPLACER testing.  You can schedule your test at any campus; it does not have to be the campus you are applying to.

 

CAMPUS

CONTACT PERSON

EMAIL ADDRESS and
PHONE NUMBER

ATOKA Tammi Stephens tlstephens@ktc.edu
580-889-7321
DURANT Terry Smith tsmith@ktc.edu
580-924-7081
HUGO Julie Perkins jperkins@ktc.edu
580-326-6491
IDABEL Misty Bible mbible@ktc.edu
580-286-7555
MCALESTER Margie Creager mcreager@ktc.edu
918-426-0940
POTEAU Julie Pickle jpickle@ktc.edu
918-647-4525

 

 2021 PN CLASS REFERENCE MATERIALS:

CLICK HERE TO SEE THE 2021 IMMUNIZATION GUIDELINES.

HIGH SCHOOL EDUCATION RECEIVED OUTSIDE OF THE U.S.A.

Applicants who received their high school education outside of the United States must submit official documentation that their high school education and subsequent graduation is equivalent to that of a high school graduate in the United States. This may be accomplished by one of the following methods:

  • a) Take the GED exam and include scores/documentation indicating high school equivalency in the Application Packet. The applicant may contact a Kiamichi Tech counselor for assistance with this process.  Please explain to the counselor that you are a Kiamichi Tech Practical Nursing Program applicant.
  • b) Request a review/evaluation of academic records from an official agency that specializes in validating academic credentials of persons educated outside of the United States. Applicants may contact the World Education Services at www.wes.org. WES is only one of several agencies that can assist you.  You may find other reputable agencies on the NACES website at www.NACES.org.  [Kiamichi Tech is not affililated with any academic evaluation agencies nor recommends a particular agency for assistance.]   Once the evaluation is complete, provide proof/documentation to Kiamichi Tech with the Application Packet. Such documentation must indicate that the applicant’s education meets high school graduate equivalency in the United States.
  • c) If the applicant has completed a minimum of 30 college hours from an accredited/approved higher education institution within the state of Oklahoma, the applicant may be eligible to petition the Oklahoma Department of Education to be awarded high school equivalency. For more information, the applicant may contact the Oklahoma Department of Education at 1(800)405-0355 or 1(405)521-3301.

It is the applicant’s responsibility to provide one of the above forms of documentation in the Application Packet. The applicant is responsible for any cost that may be incurred.

INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS FOR WHOM ENGLISH IS A SECOND LANGUAGE

All  international  applicants  (regardless  of  U.S.  Citizenship)  for  whom  English  is  a  second  language  (English  Second Language – ESL) must present evidence of proficiency in the English language. A TOEFL test is required for admission in addition to taking the pre-entrance/placement examination(s).  These  tests are used to assess placement.  You may obtain information about the TOEFL test by writing to them at:  TOEFL,  Box  899,  Princeton,  NJ  08541,  U.S.A., or by accessing the TOEFL website at, www.toefl.org. You must include a copy of your TOEFL results with the Application Packet.

 

TOEFL Scores required:  500 on paper-based test; 173 on computer-based test, or 61 on 
internet-based test

NOTE:          The following exceptions apply to the English proficiency requirement:
Students from Australia, New Zealand, the British Isles, and the English speaking provinces of 
Canada are exempt.  Students  from  other  countries  where  English  is  the  primary  language  
of  instruction  and  the language spoken at home and by the indigenous population may petition for 
an exception.

Students who have earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited United States college 
or university and igh school diploma from a United States high school with passing scores are 
exempt.

Contact Us

Practical Nursing Administration
Shelly Hovis
Practical Nursing Director

Shelly Larson
Assistant Practical Nursing Director

P.O. Box 70
405 SW “O” Street
Antlers, OK 74523
Phone: 580-298-5160
Fax: 580-298-6412