Skip to main content

Kiamichi Tech honors Board of Education

Posted Date: 02/16/2021

Kiamichi Tech honors Board of Education

WILBURTON, Okla. – January is Board of Education Recognition Month and an opportunity for local schools and technology centers to honor Oklahoma’s more than 2,700 elected school board members for their dedication to students and communities.

“Providing our students with a solid education is the most important investment we can make,” said Shelley Free, Superintendent at Kiamichi Tech. “We’re proud of our district, and Board of Education Recognition Month affords us the opportunity to say thank you and celebrate the accomplishments of our elected board members.”

Kiamichi Tech school board members must develop policies and make tough decisions on the complex educational and social issues impacting all of the communities that KTC serves. They bear responsibility for an annual budget of $39 million, over 20,000 full-time and short-term students, 264 employees and 13 locations.

“Our school board members make critical decisions that affect Southeast Oklahoma and oversee millions in educational expenditures,” notes Free. “They preserve the core of our democracy—public education.”

The Kiamichi Technology Centers Board of Education was honored at their January meeting and was presented certificates and service awards. The men and women serving the Kiamichi Tech District and their years of service are Anne Brooks (new member), Dr. Phil Chitwood (19 years), Larry Culwell (11 years), Neal Hawkins (2 years), Ernie Taylor (4 years), Brock Whittington (2 years) and Bobbie Wilson (22 years).